Need to do this thing.

I have not done anything art wise in so long. I need to. Sometimes art is as much for the artist as the audience. I need to make that art.

My mood disturbances have gotten bad enough that I will be finally receiving some professional help with that. I may be taking medication soon.

I do not foresee this making me less likely to create again. The idea that mood disorders make for better art is a lie. The romanticized notion of a tortured artist pouring their angst into their work is a compelling story. It is a much less compelling reality which, for me, involves barely being able to hold my head above water and keep my relationships healthy, much less be productive.

Art can however help us work through, if only I can get to a place where being productive is even possible.

Wish me luck.

About M. A. Melby

Writer, physics instructor, feminist, arguer, atheist; Block Bot admin, Transadvocate contributor; she, cis; opinions my own View all posts by M. A. Melby

Leave a Reply

